Top 9 VAT payers to get NBR award

The National Board of Revenue is going to honour top nine VAT payers at the national level for their outstanding contribution to the value-added tax payment to the government exchequer for the fiscal year of 2019-2020.

The revenue board on Wednesday published the names of the highest VAT paying companies in three categories — production, service and business.

According to the NBR, Aristopharma Limited (Shampur-Kadamtali), Square Toiletries Limited (Salgaria, Pabna) and Maya Biri Factory (Rangpur) are the highest VAT payers in the production category.

In the business category, S.M Motors (Chuknagar Bazar, Khulna), AMCO Bajaj International (Sobahanighat, Sylhet) and MABS Union Motors limited (West Kafrul, Dhaka) have become the top VAT payers for the year.

edotco Bangladesh Co Limited (Gulshan Avenue, Dhaka), Grey Advertising Bangladesh Limited (Gulshan, Dhaka) and Robert Bosch (Bangladesh) Limited (Tangi, Gazipur) will get the award in the service category. The NBR has selected the top VAT-paying companies under the highest VAT Payers Award Giving Policy, 2005 (amended) on the basis of volume of their VAT payment in the financial year 2019-2020.

Under the policy, businesses having 10 per cent growth year-on-year in VAT payment and no disputes over taxes with the NBR are selected for the award.

The revenue board also awards top three VAT paying businesses, one each from three categories, at the district level.

Officials said that the selected companies would receive the award at a programme to be held on December 11 in Dhaka. The programme will be organised on the occasion of the VAT Week (December 9 to December 15).

Subscribe For Latest News
We'll send you the best business news and informed analysis on what matters the most to you.