Tipu lauds role of country’s business community

Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi today appreciated the role played by the business community in the overall development of the country and thus making Bangladesh as the fastest growing economy in the world.

The Commerce Minister made the remarks while inaugurating the National Committee Secretariat of International Chamber of Commerce-Bangladesh (ICCB)-The World Business Organization in the capital’s Gulshan area.

He also hoped that the business community together with the public sector would continue to work to fulfill the vision of Prime Minister Shaikh Hasina in making Bangladesh a developed country by 2041.

Tipu congratulated ICC Bangladesh President Mahbubur Rahman, members of the executive board as well as the members’ patrons in setting up a state-of-the-art Secretariat. He expressed his hope that ICC Bangladesh would play the same positive role in future for further development of the country, said a press release.

The Minister also launched ICCB Business Directory which contains basic information about Bangladesh, information for trade and investment and FDI.

ICC Bangladesh President Mahbubur Rahman in his welcome address said that ICCB started its journey at a small office located on the premises of DCCI with 17 members.

Today, ICCB have 10 Chambers of Commerce and Business Associations Members under Organization Category (FBCCI, DCCI, MCCI, CCCI, FICCI, BAB, BIA, BGMEA, BKMEA and BTMA) and 128 Members under Corporate Category (31 commercial banks, 7 non-banking financial institutions, 10 insurance companies, 5 law firms, 56 national companies and 19 Transnational companies).

ICCB Vice President AK Azad thanked the Commerce Minister for inaugurating the new Secretariat and for his assurance in extending full support of his Ministry to the business community. He also thanked the Members and Patrons for attending the inaugural ceremony.

Apex Group Chairman Syed Manzur Elahi, former Foreign Minister Barrister Anisul Islam Mahmud; Pubali Bank Chairman Monzurur Rahman; IPDC Chairman Md. Abdul Karim; Salahuddin Kasem Khan, Director, A.K. Khan & Company Ltd,; ICCB Executive Board Members; Abdul Hai Sarker; ASM. Quasem; Aftab ul Islam; Anwar-Ul-Alam Chowdhury (Parvez); Faruque Hassan; Kutubuddin Ahmed; Mahbubul Alam; Md. Fazlul Hoque; Mir Nasir Hossain; Mohammad Hatem; Simeen Rahman; Tapan Chowdhury and M.D/ CEOs of Commercial Banks, National and Multinational Companies.

Subscribe For Latest News
We'll send you the best business news and informed analysis on what matters the most to you.